Devotional for Homeless Ministry

Hi everyone, I know that I’ve been a bad blogger lately but life has been busy and honestly, I just have not wanted to blog about anything.  I’ll share all the details later, but for now, I wanted to share a devotional/testimony I’m sharing on Saturday morning at a local homeless ministry that my church is working with.  If you’ve read my testimony on when I came to Christ, you will be familiar with some of this, but I’m posting this because it’s a somewhat shorter version of that and I hope to hear what you all think.  Any advice on changes I should make before Saturday would be greatly appreciated – I’m feeling a little nervous about sharing this in public.

I didn’t grow up as a Christian – I didn’t go to church or anything like that.  In fact, I didn’t even know who Jesus was.  I had certainly heard His name, but I didn’t know much beyond that.

I had a pretty nice, boring childhood up until the point when my parents divorced when I was in Junior high.  I had to grow up pretty quickly and help my mom while she struggled to go to school, work, and be a single mom to me and my older brother.

Because my dad left, I struggled with feeling unloved and unworthy.  I believe that each of us has a void within our souls that can only truly be filled by one thing, but we often try all the wrong things in the hopes of finding this true fulfillment.  For me, that was in the form of relationships.  I wanted a boy to fill the void that no human can fill – only Jesus can fill.

Several years later, in 2004, my dad started to change.  He became a Christian and suddenly he was being made new before my very eyes.  I could see his heart changing. My once very proud dad, was suddenly very humbled.  I liked this change and I was curious about his new faith in Jesus.

For Christmas that year, my dad gave me my very first bible – with my name engraved on the front and everything.  Even though I didn’t know Jesus, I knew that this was a special gift and I was excited to start reading it.

A few months later, my world came crashing down when a lot of mistakes I had mad caused me to hit rock bottom.  I felt alone, unworthy, unloved, and without hope.

In the worst of my pain, I thought about ending my life.  And as I sat on my bed ready to give up, I looked to my left and saw my special gift sitting on my dresser – my bible.  In an instant, I felt God’s presence all around me and I knew that I was not alone.

I was not unloved.  I was not unworthy.  And I was not without hope.  On the night that I first believed in Jesus, He rescued me from both a physical and spiritual death.  On that night, Jesus wasn’t just a name anymore.  He became my Savior, who died for me, taking my place and my punishment on the cross, so that I may live.

It has been almost 10 years now and it has been an amazing journey getting to know my loving Savior, Jesus.

It hasn’t been an easy journey – there have been many, many trials along the way.

But when there is nothing left, when I have no one else, and my circumstances would say there is no hope, I rest in knowing the One who offers life and life more abundant.

The world will try to tell us that we can find fulfillment and fill the void that we each have with temporary things: relationships, family, friends, money, food, sex, drugs, alcohol, and the list goes on and on.

But Jesus Christ, who gave His life on the cross for us all, offers more than the world and these temporary pleasures ever could.  Through faith in Jesus, we have a relationship with God, His Holy presence living within us, and an eternal hope that never ends.

Are you looking to fill a void that only Christ Jesus can fill? Turn to Christ and put your faith in Him and believe.  He will fill you with all joy that will make Paul’s words in the bible come alive that says:

“But whatever was to my profit, I now consider loss for the sake of Christ.  What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus, my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things.  I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ and be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ – the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith.”

There is only one way to be saved – that is by believing in Jesus Christ.  Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.”

And all who place their faith in Jesus have this future hope that Jesus promised in His word: “In my Father’s house are many rooms.  I am going there to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.”

Thanks for reading everyone! I’ll be back soon with updates and all that jazz.  My Weigh In Wednesday video is posted on my YouTube channel if you want to check that out – just look up The Frugalwed or Amber Mueller to find my channel.

-Amber

 

7 thoughts on “Devotional for Homeless Ministry

  1. So glad to hear from you. I have been thinking about you :). I have nothing for you to change. It sounds great and I know lives will be changed. I pray the Holy Spirit uses your words to speak to hearts. Xo

  2. I think your testimony is beautiful and is going to touch a lot of lives. I’m so proud of you for being bold. When I had to stand up and share my testimony in front of our entire church back in May, I didn’t think I’d be able to stand up and give it because I was so nervous. But what did God do? He spoke FOR me! All I had to do was be brave enough to walk up to that stage and God did the rest. He will do the same for you and you’re going to do great! Thinking of you always…XO

  3. Good hearing from you! Your testimony is so interesting! I love that your dad was led to the Lord and got to give you your first bible!!! I didn’t grow up in a church home either – thanks for being transparent and sharing!

  4. Pingback: How is it already August? | Amber Under Construction

Leave a Reply

