Recurrent Miscarriage & Infertility Linked to Celiac Disease

Hi friends, I was just playing around on Pinterest while eating dinner and found this good explanation of what Celiac Disease is and what the symptoms are.

I have Celiac disease and I discovered that I had Celiac disease in 2012 after having 3 miscarriages.  One day, I just happened to stumble upon an article about the link between Celiac disease and recurrent miscarriage and thought I would have my doctor test me for the disease.  I also had a lot of intestinal symptoms related to Celiac disease and thought it wouldn’t hurt to get tested.

Diagnosis for Celiac disease involves a blood test followed by a biopsy if the results are positive.  Some people actually have negative blood test results but still have a biopsy anyways and actually find a diagnosis through that.  I had positive results with the blood test and then had to wait months to see a gastroenterologist for a biopsy (which was completely frustrating!)

After my diagnosis of Celiac disease it was also discovered that I had low vitamin D and low iron, both also from the Celiac disease.

The most important thing about testing for Celiac disease is remaining on your normal gluten diet.  If you start eating gluten free and then get blood testing or a biopsy, you could heal your body and have false results.  Just remember: while testing, keep eating your bread! NO gluten free until you have all of your results back.

Check out the below fact sheet about Celiac disease and read through the symptoms.  If you suffer from recurrent miscarriages and/or infertility, I think you should get tested for the disease.  A simple blood test won’t hurt.  If you do have Celiac disease and it goes undiscovered, it can lead to horrible health problems, even cancer.

And please, don’t be like some of my family members who have refused to get tested because “they could never stick to a gluten free diet.”  It’s not that bad and it’s not the end of the world.  Yes, it is difficult at times, but you get more creative and learn to enjoy life gluten free.

I like to think that my 3 precious babies in Heaven have played a role in saving my life by helping me discover this disease.

5aa929829446569a631b70435443fd88

Be healthy my friends, life is more enjoyable when you feel better!

-Amber

9 thoughts on “Recurrent Miscarriage & Infertility Linked to Celiac Disease

    • Absolutely! And there are so many options available – I think even just a few years ago it was much more difficult. I came to my diagnosis at a great point in time. I’ve also just discovered that King Arthur’s all purpose gluten free flour makes the best pancakes that taste just like my pre-gluten free Old Fashioned pancake recipe. It was a bit overwhelming at first, but now I’m starting to feel more confident in the kitchen and spending more time experimenting with foods.

  1. Thanks for sharing this – raising awareness is awesome! I was tested for celiac disease through a biopsy years ago, so i know that’s not the cause of our RPL, but I have recently moved to a gluten limited diet due to concerns that a herbicide used in the production of wheat could be causing an immune reaction in my body that could result in my body fighting the placenta. The science is weak, but it’s worth a try at this point. :)

Leave a Reply

