Easy Gluten Free Pancakes

Hi friends, happy Friday! I’m excited for the weekend but my lovely husband is snoozing away on the couch.  He had rifle training this week for work out in the hot Texas sun and he is exhausted, poor thing.  So while he’s resting, I thought I’d share a new favorite recipe (if you can even call it a recipe!) for gluten free pancakes.

In my pre-Celiac disease and gluten free days, I enjoyed making these buttermilk pancakes and another recipe that I never ended up posting on the blog that is just a simple old fashioned pancake recipe.

Since going gluten free, I have really struggled to find a good pancake recipe that compares to my old favorites.  But the other week at the store, I found a box of King Arthur’s gluten free all-purpose baking mix that I was going to use for a stew and dumpling recipe I was trying.  When I got home,  I found a simple recipe for pancakes on the back of the box and decided we were going to give it a try one morning.

The result was a very happy, gluten-free Amber!

Without further ado, here is the recipe

You will need the following ingredients:

  • 1 cup King Arthur Flour, Gluten free all-purpose baking mix (VERY IMPORANT that you use the baking mix and not the multi-purpose mix)
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter or oil
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, optional (I don’t use this)

1.) In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the baking mix and sugar.

2.) In a measuring cup, combine the milk, egg, melted butter or oil, and vanilla (if using vanilla).  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and whisk until blended.

3.) Allow the batter to sit for 10 minutes, to thicken (this goes for all pancake recipes FYI – it’s an important step that a lot of people skip)

4.) Preheat your griddle or pan to medium heat (350 degrees F)

5.)Pour batter onto the hot, lightly greased griddle or pan.  Cook until the pancakes edges are dry, bubbles form, and the top is no longer glossy.  Turn over to finish cooking.

**You can make the recipe dairy free by using oil instead of melted butter and rice, soy, or nut milk instead. **

The recipes yields about eight 4 inch pancakes

I forgot to take a picture of my pancakes, but they pretty much look just like my old favorites:

Buttermilk Pancakes

If you are gluten free and give this a try, let me know how you like it.  I enjoyed my pancakes with real maple syrup! Other toppings could include fresh fruit and homemade cool whip.

Happy gluten-free baking,

Amber

5 thoughts on “Easy Gluten Free Pancakes

    • I’m actually going to purchase a chest freezer so I can have more room for gluten free food to have on hand for the times when I’m feeling sick and can’t cook. Our freezer is just so tiny right now that I can’t really do that. Waffles, even frozen waffles sound amazing to me right now. I need to buy a waffle maker!

    • It might help but I’m not really sure. Celiac disease is often misdiagnosed as IBS – if you have other symptoms of Celiac disease you might want to do a blood test. I was diagnosed with IBS when I was a senior in High school. If you don’t have Celiac disease though, you could try an elimination diet – eliminating certain food groups one at a time to see if that helps at all.

Leave a Reply

